Skip to main content


LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is a green building certification program managed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The Santa Clara University Planning and Projects department uses the LEED building design framework to help guide construction projects towards high performance while being environmentally friendly during all stages of construction. LEED is the certification that is aligned with the University's mission to be green.

Buildings are LEED certified by an independent, third-party and are given one of four levels of certification based on points awarded on five metrics. 


  1. Energy efficiency
  2. Water savings
  3. Sustainable site development
  4. Materials selection
  5. Indoor environmental quality

Levels of Certification:

  • Certified (40-49 points)
  • Silver (50-59 points)
  • Gold (60-79 points)
  • Platinum (80+ points)


Benefits of LEED Certification

Here are some of the major benefits of having LEED certified building practices: 

  • Lower operating costs
  • Reduction of waste
  • Conservation of energy and water
  • Healthier and safer for occupants
  • Reduction of harmful greenhouse gas emissions
  • Qualification for tax rebates, zoning allowances and other incentives

To learn more about LEED visit the U.S. Green Building Council website!